Creative Writing society exercise

This session was on characterisation. We had to write from the perspective of a blind person  in a hospital.

Here it is: 

As a child I was always fascinated with the dark. I could hide in it and no one could ever find me. But I never imagined that i would have to sit in perpetual darkness.I am sure that there are people around me , for I can  hear voices here and there, but I feel alone; and I feel like I am trapped in an endless cycle of darkness, although the doctor said that my lack of vision was temporary.

I still remember the hospital. Its green walls and white doors are unforgettable. I still remember the faces of the doctors and nurses but as I sit in the reception, I cannot help but sigh at the fact that I have to rely on my memory. 

Leave a Reply

