Delayed Flight

Daily Prompt : You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?   In response to this, I decided to write a piece of flash fiction.   I’m not good at waiting. I haven’t been since I was a child, and according to my mother I did not have the capacity to be patient. I certainly don’t have it now. When I arrived at the airport, in the hope of catching my flight, I found out that my journey had been delayed. I asked the lady at the desk, as calmly as I could, how long I would have to wait. She said, ‘Six hours, I’m afraid’. Frustrated, I went to look for a seat. I sat down like a sulking child, and reached into my jeans pocket to grab my phone. To my absolute horror there was no signal. I sighed heavily at the thought of waiting around for six hours with nothing to do. What does one do when they have no signal and no even a book to pass the time? Well, I turned to my left to see who was sitting beside. It was a young woman perhaps around the same age as me. ‘Don’t tell me your flight is delayed too’, she said, friendly. ‘Yeah’, I said. I noticed she was wearing a T-shirt of my favourite band. ‘You listen to these guys!?’ ‘They are amazing’. Let’s just say that the six hours passed by swiftly. Ping Back http://dailypost.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

