Book review and 5 reasons why you should read ‘You Had Me At Hello’ by Mhairi McFarlane

I wanted to try something different with this review. Basically, this review is me fangirling about You Had Me At Hello, and telling you to read it, even before you take a look at my review.


Down below are five reasons why you should read Mhairi Mcfarlane’s You Had Me At Hello, if you want to.

photo (4)

  1. The characters are real. Rachel and Ben have flaws, and they make mistakes. They get stuck in one of those weird love situations. E.g.: ‘we’re best friends,but i think i might like him or I know i don’t like him. Deep down i probably do.. But… I’ve got a boyfriend. Love in You Had Me At Hello is pretty complicated and has a lot of ‘what if’s ‘.
  2. Friendships in this is book are so lovely. Ben and Rachel are inseparable! I just loved the way they were so comfortable with each other. But….. they fall in love. Yep, and this makes things kind of awkward (read book to find out more). The friendship between Rachel, Caroline, Mindy and Ivor is sooo funny. It reminded me of something out of Friends and New Girl.
  3. This book is hilarious.
  4. It will break your heart… but in a nice way. It will make you want to scream at Ben and Rachel or Mindy and Ivor.
  5. The flashbacks were a nice way to  get to know Ben and Rachel when they were at university.

What did I think about this book?

I loved this book. Seriously, it was good. I know chick lit books don’t always have the best reputation and their plot lines are predictable at times. Nonetheless, Mcfarlane breaths new life into a tried and used plot line

I would give it a 4.5 out of 5. If you love romance stories with wit and humor, and if you love Sophie Kinsella then this book is for you.

2 thoughts on “Book review and 5 reasons why you should read ‘You Had Me At Hello’ by Mhairi McFarlane

  1. It’s the best time to make a few plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I have learn this post and if I may just I desire to
    suggest you few interesting issues or advice. Perhaps you can write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I wish to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

