5 Best Things About English Literature Students

If you’ve been on my bio page you’ll see that I’m an English Language and Literature undergraduate. My course is heavier on the literature side, which I love!

5 Best Things About English Literature Students

Throughout the course of my degree I’ve heard different things about how people see English students. Some are good and others are not so good. Either way, I think that there are pros and cons. But, for me the pros outweigh the cons and that’s why I want to share 5 of the best things about English Language and Literature students.

1.Books, books…and more books.

As someone who loves reading, my degree has given me plenty of time to read different novels, plays and poetry. It’s true that I rarely get to read books for pleasure, but I love that I’ve been exposed to so many types of literature. All the reading will definitely broaden your mind. Some of us can even read a bit of old English!

2. Writing, writing and … some more writing.

Of course this is super obvious. Some of you will probably yawn at the thought of having to write continuously. But, trust me, decent writing skills come in handy especially when you’re applying for a job role.

3. Deep thinking

I’ve heard the ‘sky is blue because it is blue’ comment a few times. Maybe a door is just a door. All I know is that English students can get deeper meanings out of anything, even a pencil. Now that is a pretty awesome skill.

4. Silent situations

If you’re an English student then you must have experienced this before. The complete silence in seminar classes =no one has read the book. But, the good thing is that we can think on our feet, even if we only know the themes and plot line of the book. We can dig our way out of a silent and awkward situation.

5. Super memory power

Anyone that’s had to study 4 novels for an exam will understand…

Leave a Reply

