Book Review: It’s You Not Me, It’s You By Mhairi McFarlane

It’s Not Me It’s You is the second book I’ve read by  Mhairi McFarlane. I think it’s definitely as good as You Had Me At Hello, seriously! 

The novel follows the life of Delia Moss, a 33 year old Geordie council press officer. Life is usually nice and calm for Delia. But everything changes when Delia proposes to her boyfriend, who then accidentally sends a text meant for his side-chick to Delia. You may think that things can’t get worse for the protagonist: trust me, they do (read the book and find out).

What I love about this book is the three-dimensional nature of Delia. She is not a ‘Mary Sue’. Delia finds herself in turmoil and makes difficult decisions.What a fearless and pro-active heroine. The comic-book alter-ego plot of the story is brilliant and original, which portrays her as a character willing to not give-up on old dreams.

Mhairi’s use of dialogue is brilliant as usual- I definitely laughed at times. Plus, the supporting characters are not one-dimensional. They add so much to an already enjoyable  book (e.g, Adam, Paul, Delia’s brother Kurt, just to name a few ). This author is great at characterisation.

Now on to the plot. Don’t let the cover deceive you. It is chick-lit, but not the typical kind. There’s suspense and mystery, and obviously it’s not the kind you’d find in a hard-core thriller/crime novel, you thriller novel enthusiasts.

I don’t really have any criticisms for the actual book. My only quibble is that at a times I was a little frustrated with Delia because she was indecisive. But, I understand why. I’m definitely indecisive a lot of the time.

Overall, I love, love, love this book. There was no way I would have left this book half finished!

Leave a Reply

