Novel Writing Journey #2: Daily Word Target

Hi follow bloggers, writers and readers.

The novel writing journey is not a smooth one. There are highs and lows, and days when ‘am I really cut out for this?’ crosses your mind. Don’t worry, we’ve all been there.

When I decided to write this novel my initial plan was to write about 2,000 words a day. I quickly realised there was no way I could do that. I know some people can crack out a book within no time. Then, there’s the rest of us who work differently. So, I changed my daily writing target to 1,000 words.

Aiming to write 1,000 words each was a good word target for me. I found it easier to write 500 during one part of the day and 500 later on. If my creative juices were really flowing I could write about 750 earlier in the day.

Did I stick to writing 1,000 words everyday? No, I didn’t. There were days when I was tired or simple busy with other things.Let’s not forgot the dreaded writers’ block. One time I wrote 300 words over my word goal.That was a great feeling! As you can see,  I was flexible with the amount I wrote most days (I admit to not writing everyday!).

I think writers will find what works for them. Whether it’s 100, 200, 500 or 700 words, just keep writing and you will get to end.

Photo credit:www.theatlantic.com

One thought on “Novel Writing Journey #2: Daily Word Target

  1. Yes, I find the same thing. I’m trying to complete NaNoWriMo (and am currently behind) it’s a great challenge but I don’t know if I will finish and I certainly won’t be trying to hit 1700 words a day when December comes!

Leave a Reply

