Flash Back to 2016 (Round-up)

I hope you’re enjoying the festive season! Happy New Year to those already in 2017.

Seeing as it’s the first day of the new year ,I thought it would be great to do a flash back (round-up) to 2016.

Blog Name and Content 

You may or may not have noticed that I changed my blog name a couple of months ago. I wanted to try something different. I decided to go back to my old blog name with a a few added variations. It’s now called ‘About the books, food and music’ because after some much needed feedback I realised that my blog needed more diversity. So, as you may  have seen, I upload bookish posts as well as food and music write-ups. I’m enjoying writing about different things and I think I’m attracting a small but different audience to my blog.

What do you guys think about the change in content and blog name?

Novel Writing Journey

I finished the first draft of my first novel in August, and I wanted to share my experiences with other writers.I’m excited that I’ve finally managed to finish a complete draft (Yay!) I’m currently in the process of slowly editing.

Book Reviews

I’m trying to increase the amount of books reviews on this blog and in comparison to last year I think I’ve improved. I can definitely do better, though.

Here’s a list of last year’s book reviews:

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

By My Side by Alice Peterson

This is A Love Story by Jessica Thompson

Millie’s Game Plan by Rosie Dean

Chloe’s Rescue Mission By Rosie Dean

It’s Not Me It’s You by Mhairi McFarlane 

The Sun is Also  A Star By Nicola Yoon

Here’s Looking At You by Mhairi McFarlane 

My biggest book highlight would have to be Everything Everything.  Nonetheless, I’ve loved discovering new authors and their wonderful novels . I seem to have read a lot of tear-jerking books for some reason!

Short Stories

I think because I was working on my novel I didn’t write many short stories. I definitely want to write more in the future!

Articles/Discussions 

I really enjoyed writing the discussion topics. I would have liked more of my readers to have shared their views. So, I going to write more discussions this year and we’ll see how it goes.  If you have any literature themed topics that you would like me to write about, then please feel free to comment below.

Food and Music

My blog is no longer completely bookish (as I already mentioned above). I want to upload a lot more posts on food and music. Hopefully when I have more written content I’ll have a clearer idea of whether album/restaurant reviews have a place on my blog.

Overall 

2016 was fun and experimental year of blogging. I can’t wait to see what 2017 has in store for About The Books, Food and Music. 

Photo credit: pinterest

Leave a Reply

