The Skylark Bakery, Leicester: A Review

The Skylark is an adorable bakery located on Clarendon Park Road in Leicester. I’ve strolled pass it a few times as it’s not too far from where I live, and I’ve heard good things about it from some of my friends. Me and a friend decided to visit there one afternoon, and it was lovely! I only ordered something little- a large, homemade scone with cream and jam, and it tasted so good and fresh. The jam wasn’t overly sweet and the cream was rich- I could have had the cream without the scone! Plus, this bakery is not expensive at all. I just wish it would open more often.

Skylark’s decor is refreshing and calming with a vintage touch. Positioned next to us was a small book cabinet, which I think adds a retro-feel to the place. From the outside the bakery looks small, but don’t be deceived. The bakery is fitted with a large tearoom- at the time I felt like I was in a Jane Austen novel.  So, there’s plenty of room to sip tea over a nice slice of cake! I had to take pictures (inspiration for my own kitchen in the far, far away future). The whole atmosphere was just so peaceful, and me and my friend must have stayed there for at least two hours. The two women who run the cafe had absolutely no problem with that, thankfully.

IMG_0698

So, here are some of the treats and services you can expect from The Skylark, if you decide to pay them a visit.

Mother’s Day Beforeafternoon and Afternoon Tea (Unlimited tea!)

£18 per person

Don’t worry if you’re a vegan, vegetarian or gluten intolerant. These options are available.

Freshly Baked Cupcakes 

You can order these in batches.

E.g: 6 x cupcakes for £13.00

Celebration Cakes

If it’s your birthday or a friend’s, then you’re in luck. My friend ordered a cake there for a birthday and apparently it tasted super good. Single tier cakes start at £40.00.

Pay the the site a visit.

http://www.theskylarkbakery.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

